Facebook getting too personal

I found another interesting article in the New York Times the other day titled, “Is Facebook Growing Up Too Fast?’ According to the article, Facebook is about to register its 200th million user, which has doubled in size in the past eight months. As Facebook expands, it is finding new ways to match up with the newest trends such as Twittering. This explains its new layout which posts a list of the most recent status updates of your friends in the daily feed.

As Facebook becomes the most prevalent social newtworking system, it poses a dilemma for many of its users. As more and more people join, many will soon find that they will be able to connect with their friends, parents, relatives, co-workers, old teachers or professors and perhaps even their boss in the same social network. As a result,  it will become harder for users to keep secrets and maintain separate social realms.

“Uniting disparate groups on a single Internet service runs counter to 50 years of research by sociologists into what is known as “homophily” — the tendency of individuals to associate only with like-minded people of similar age and ethnicity.”

I remember I was a senior in high school when Facebook first appeared and it started as a social networking site for college students only. Everyone knew that, as high school students, joining facebook was considered a rite of passage for moving on to the next phase of your life. I was able to find childhood friends that I had long lost contact with and it was nice to see what they were up to now. I even found a cousin that I haven’t seen in 10 years because he lives halfway around the world.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago and you can imagine my surprise when I recieved a friend invitatation from my 11-year-old cousin and some aunts and uncles who I rarely see. I certainly did not want them to see my old pictures of me partying it up in college.  I am certain facebook is will be detrimental when I am applying for a job and my employers come across photos of my acting like a drunk idiot. I am probably going to delete my account once I graduate, because honestly, I don’t think I want to be THAT connected to everyone. Plus, I kind of miss my privacy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

